Blog

Do I Have Right If I Was Injured At Work?

Do I Have Right If I Was Injured At Work?

The laws in each state allow you to pursue a workers' compensation claim without fear of punishment or harassment from your employer. If your employer makes it difficult for you to freely exercise these rights, they could face penalties. What Are My Rights Against...

Can I Move Out Of New York If I Have A WC Claim?

Can I Move Out Of New York If I Have A WC Claim?

Yes. Simply because an injured worker may have a Workers’ Compensation claim in New York does not mean that he or she is bound to New York State. However, there are some complications that arise when a claimant moves out of New York. At MCV Law, we warn our clients of...

How a Good Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Can Help Your Case

How a Good Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Can Help Your Case

A workers' comp lawyer can help develop medical evidence to prove your claim, negotiate a settlement, and represent you at your workers' comp hearing. If you're an employee who has suffered a work-related injury or illness, you may be entitled to workers' compensation...

Workers Comp, Workmens Comp or Workmans Comp?

Workers Comp, Workmens Comp or Workmans Comp?

About The Original Workmen’s Compensation Law In 1910, representatives of various state commissions met at a conference in Chicago and the Uniform Workmen’s Compensation Law. Although this innovative new law was not overwhelmingly adopted,...

What If I Failed To Report My Injury At Work

What If I Failed To Report My Injury At Work

If you fail to report your injury at work, an attorney can step in and conduct a full investigation into the incident. This will include gathering evidence to prove what happened, examining all medical records related to the injury or illness, and handling all...

I Hurt Myself At Work, Now What?

I Hurt Myself At Work, Now What?

If you are injured at work, or have a work-related illness, immediately report the accident to your employer or a supervisor. If you don't report your accident within 30 days, you may lose your right to benefits. Get a copy of the accident report. Seek medical help...

What Is The Time Frame To File Workmen’s Comp

What Is The Time Frame To File Workmen’s Comp

When an accident happens, a written notification should be provided to your employer as soon as possible, but within 30 days. If you fail to notify your employer, within 30 days after the date of injury, you may lose your rights to workers' compensation benefits. ...

Can You Get Workers’ Compensation for a Work-From-Home Injury?

Can You Get Workers’ Compensation for a Work-From-Home Injury?

If the coronavirus pandemic has taught us anything, working from home has a lot of perks. For example: no commuting, better work-life balance, and fewer distractions (goodbye, compulsory work birthday parties). But are you protected under workers' compensation laws...

Common problems with Workers Comp Claims

Common problems with Workers Comp Claims

If you pay attention to news about workers’ compensation claims, it’s usually a lot of information about workers’ comp problems and how it hurts employers or about how employers need to work harder to save money. But what about employees? Workers’ comp is supposed to...

What do I do if I get Hurt on an Under the Table Job?

What do I do if I get Hurt on an Under the Table Job?

Any time that an employee is injured while on the job, that person is eligible to receive financial compensation for the injuries inflicted. This program is known as worker’s compensation and is a right afforded to any employee across the nation. There are however...